Meet The Guy Who Wrote The Sesame Street Song For Black Girls “I Love My Hair” Video!!!

Posted: October 23, 2010 in Uncategorized

October 25,2010. http://www.Thatswhatsupnow.com was a little surprised to know that the guy who wrote the Sesame Street Song “I Love My Hair” was no other than Joey Mazzarino who had a four-year-old daughter, Segi, at the time and notice that she didn’t embrace her hair, in fact she hated it. For those with little ones, Mazzarino voice is the characters Murray Monster and Papa Bear. Mazzarino and his wife adopted their daughter from Ethiopia when she was a baby. He shared why he wrote the “I Love My Hair” lyrics for his little girl.

Mazzarino went on to say, “I have a five year old and she’s African American. My wife and I are both White. When she was fou, we were going through stuff with her hair were she wanted to have hair that was straight. I tried to say to her, “Your hair’s great. It’s so beautiful and you can do so many things with it.” I thought it was a problem unique to us because we were white parents and she saw us everyday. Then Chris Rock’s movie “Good Hair” came out and I realized it’s not just about being raised by white parents. It’s an issue for a lot of little black girls.” This makes me want to take out my weave and run around the room singing “I Love My Hair”….thoughts?

Comments are closed.